My favorite Korean language learning tools

As a Korean Studies major, learning Korean language is a definite must-do. After all, how can I rightfully call myself a Korean Studies major if I can’t even speak decent Korean, right?So I’m currently studying Level 2, which is a far cry from Level 6, the holy grail of Korean language learning. Nevertheless, someone (a.k.a., me) is hard at work learning this language. Thanks to the internet, the task is made a lot easier.

Here are some of my favorite online learning tools:

 

 

 

 

1) Verbix –  Conjugate Korean Verbs http://www.verbix.com/languages/korean.php

I had a hard time learning how to conjugate verbs when I first started learning Korean. But after a few searches on Google on how to conjugate verbs, I found this jewel of a site called Verbix. It has a page that automatically conjugates verbs. Just input the regular form of the verb on the box, click Go, and, voila!, the various conjugations of the verb will appear! This is a great way of checking if your conjugation is correct.

2) Lexilogos Korean Keyboard http://www.lexilogos.com/keyboard/korean.htm

Some people download software that enables them to type Korean characters on their keyboard, but for me, an online keyboard like Lexilogos works better. I don’t like installing too many programs in my laptop because I found that these make my computer run slow. So I’ve taken to bookmarking this site and visiting it whenver I need to type something in Korean.

3) Google Translate –  http://translate.google.com/

Of course, not all translations here are accurate, and we shouldn’t rely on this too much. BUT (and I mean BUT!), Google Translate is a great way of: 1) checking if your spelling is correct because it can detect if you mispelled something and promptly recommends the (presumably) correct sentence, 2) checking if your words make sense, 3) hear sentences said in Korean so you’ll know how to pronounce these the way they should be.

Aside from these, I also watch a LOOOOOOT of Korean TV dramas online and listen to loads of Korean music while relaxing or while working out at the gym. These help me listen well and hear how words should be pronounced. And these are great ways of seeing beautiful Korean culture, too! BUT of course, as my Korean teacher cautioned me, reading textbooks is still the best way to learn Korean well as these provide the foundation for correct grammar. The slang can come later. ^^

So those are some of my favorites. What’s yours? Let’s share! ^^

Leave a Reply

