Ano’ng Taya Mo? (Going Organic)

CIMG2768_sm

I think it’s just right to start this blog by posting one of the papers I wrote for my Communication and Social Change graduate class. See, my teacher is part of a social movement called “Ano’ng Taya Mo?” and she asked us to write what our “taya” is. Here’s mine:

I’ve been thinking more and more that organic is the way to go. Not only is it good for the body, it is good for the environment as well.

Last December 2008, I chanced upon a beauty columnist’s good review of an affordable Philippine-made organic line of beauty products called Human Nature. The columnist raved about how good the shampoo and conditioner combo she used is, how the quality is at par with more expensive brands, and best of all, how easy on the pocket the products are.

Having studied in an all-girls school with world peace and the care of the environment as primary thrusts, from elementary to high school, I cognitively know that caring for the earth is an important issue. However, as I entered college, I became engrossed and fascinated with feminism, women’s issues, and feminist writers that world peace and caring for the earth took the backseat.

But reading that beauty column promoting organic products last year really piqued my interest. And so, I visited the website, checked out the products I might like, noted them down, and convinced a colleague to order some other products with me. We ordered online and had the products delivered to our office.

When I got home, I immediately tried on the products, which I instantly liked. I’ve always wanted to use organic products but have always found the prices way too much my third world budget. But Human Nature made going organic within reach. Also, using the products have made marked improvements on my hair and skin. Before, my hair and skin were dry and flaky. Now, they are just right.

Knowing that buying and using the products also benefitted Gawad Kalinga Farmers, among others, makes patronizing the products a lot easier.

Now that I have made using organic beauty products a habit, I am thinking of branching out to other related things like eating organic and using only products made by social entrepreneurs and socially responsible corporate citizens: RIIR with their eco-trendy bags and Selecta Ice Cream with their Bayan-anihan with their quest to end hunger in the Philippines, to name a few.

And when it’s Christmas time, when it’s someone’s birthday, or when there’s a special occasion, wouldn’t it be nice to give someone a meaningful gift that supports things for a good cause? I am thinking of the Christmas cards made by ACED’s public school students, quality coffee beans and rice grains at Pathways to Higher Education, and the like.

The thought excites me. It makes me think of quiet activism, a lifestyle change for the better, that still makes a big difference in the world. The action is a concrete way of showing support for these groups and movements. At the same time, it is a kind of witnessing—leading by example—of what the ideal citizen in the ideal world could be like.

2 comments on “Ano’ng Taya Mo? (Going Organic)

Leave a Reply

