Before I turn vegetarian

I suppose that turning vegetarian is the natural offshoot of using organic toiletries and products. It’s  a common entry point for a total organic lifestyle. With the desire to use eco-friendly products for the skin comes the desire to use healthy and chemical-free food. Food, after all, is something that you ingest for nourishment. The quality of your health heavily depends on the quality of your food.

I’ve done my best to shun processed meats. That’s quite easy. I just think of all the preservatives in each product and I shudder. What I am having trouble with, I must confess, is doing away with beef (I really love Bubble Tea‘s burgers) and chicken (I love, love, love cooking with chicken). Should I also shun sea treasures such as milkfish (or bangus, in my native language), shrimps, lobsters, tuna–a few of my favorites–in favor of vegetables, fruits and nuts?

I of course eat more veggies and fruits than meats. And this is supposed to be good. But being vegetarian, as I often read from people’s blogs these days, is supposedly better. But before I turn vegetarian, I have to do some thinking first, to examine the why of my what.

Based from what I’ve been reading from the Internet, the two main reasons for going vegetarian (aside from health reasons) seems to be that:

1) It is one way of reducing your carbon footprint since feeding and growing animals for meat seems to rack up the world’s carbon count.

2) Being kind to animals means not eating them.   The living conditions of a chicken grown for food, for example, involves being cramped into a teeny-weeny cage and not being allowed to walk freely on land. Its sole purpose is to lay eggs and to be eventual meat on a plate.

It seems like the issue points to the need for responsible farming. Of course the goal of businesses is to make profit. It’s a business, after all. But as members of society, I suppose earning money entails a certain degree of responsibility to the environment.

And then there’s also the issue of overpopulation, which is why businesses are scrambling to produce as many meats at the fastest time possible. The demand is just so big and vegetarianism, I suppose, lowers this demand. And that is well and good. But that’s just one part of the solution. The other part calls for the need for, as I’ve mentioned eariler, responsible farming and population control. I hope we will not forget these related issues.

I must think about these things some more before I turn vegetarian. That, and because I need more time to be psychologically prepared to alter my lifestyle significantly. Pardon me if this is taking a bit long.

Leave a Reply

